8 Best Business Bank Accounts in India for 2026

The best business bank accounts in India for 2026 are ICICI Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank, Bank of Baroda, Axis Bank, SBI, HDFC Bank, Kotak Mahindra Bank, and Federal Bank.
We ranked them on what the account costs to keep open and run, how clearly each bank publishes its fees, how easy it is to receive money from clients abroad, how easy the account is to open and use day to day, and the benefits and room to grow it offers.
ICICI ranks first because it pairs a ₹10,000 minimum balance with the strongest business app on this list, a published exchange rate that applies to invoices up to USD 25,000, and foreign payments you can settle from the app. IDFC FIRST ranks second for its low balance, high free cash limits, and online handling of money from abroad. Bank of Baroda ranks third because it has no minimum balance, one of the smallest dollar rate gaps on this list, and published charges for money received from abroad. Axis follows closely, with the most complete self-serve setup for foreign payments. Federal ranks last because only individuals and sole proprietors can open its account online, and foreign payments still go through the branch.
The right account for you depends on your legal entity, how much cash you handle, how much money you usually keep in the account, and whether your clients pay you from abroad.
If you already know what matters most to you, the ranked table below is the fastest way in. If you get paid by clients abroad, the section on receiving money from abroad shows what each bank charges and how much of the process you can do online.
The 8 Best Business Bank Accounts in India in 2026
Here are the best business current accounts in India ranked, the entry-level account we scored at each bank, what sets each one apart, and who it suits best.
| # | Bank (account scored) | Score | Key differentiator | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ICICI Bank (Roaming Current Account Standard) | 81.6 | GST payments, credit, and foreign payments in one business app | Growing businesses that bank mostly online |
| 2 | IDFC FIRST Bank (Silver) | 79.8 | Free cash deposits up to ₹10 lakh a month, online foreign payment settlement, and a zero-balance account for startups | Registered startups and cash-heavy small businesses |
| 3 | Bank of Baroda (Lite) | 72.6 | No minimum balance, no penalty, and every fee on one page | Micro businesses and new proprietors who keep low balances |
| 4 | Axis Bank (Normal) | 72.2 | Settle foreign payments online with no service charge, and the most complete published fee schedule | Exporters and freelancers who want to handle foreign payments themselves |
| 5 | SBI (Regular) | 71.8 | The lowest minimum balance of any full-service bank here, at ₹5,000 | Businesses that deposit cash and want branch reach |
| 6 | HDFC Bank (Biz Lite+) | 69.8 | A detailed fee schedule and a four-step ladder of business accounts | Merchants who can link a POS, gateway, or QR code |
| 7 | Kotak Mahindra Bank (Pro Business) | 63.2 | Cash deposits up to 10x the balance and a credit line up to ₹5 lakh | Established businesses that keep ₹50,000 or more in the account |
| 8 | Federal Bank (Freedom) | 60.8 | A ₹5,000 minimum balance | Individuals and sole proprietors opening online |
How the score works: each account is scored out of 100 on six factors: cost to hold and run (20%), fee transparency (20%), receiving money from abroad (20%), ease of operation (20%), benefits (10%), and room to grow (10%). Every figure was checked on the bank’s own website in September 2026, using third-party sources only where a bank does not publish the information. The full method is in How We Ranked These Business Bank Accounts.
How Do the Best Business Bank Accounts Compare on Cost?
A current account costs you in two visible ways every month: the cash the bank asks you to keep idle as a minimum balance, and the penalty if you fall short. Across these eight banks, the entry-level minimum balance ranges from zero at Bank of Baroda to ₹50,000 at Kotak.
Banks measure the balance differently. A monthly average balance (MAB) is the average of your end-of-day balances across a month. A quarterly average balance (AQB) does the same across a quarter. Many banks also set a lower requirement for semi-urban and rural branches.
| Bank (account) | Minimum balance | Penalty if you miss it | Free cash deposits a month | Free NEFT/RTGS online | Other fixed charges |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ICICI (Roaming Standard) | ₹10,000 MAB | ₹750 a month | ₹1 lakh (none if your balance is under 80% of the MAB) | Yes | ₹25 per branch transaction while you are below the minimum balance |
| IDFC FIRST (Silver) | ₹10,000 AMB | ₹1,000, charged against the monthly average balance | 10x the current month’s AMB, up to ₹10 lakh (home, non-home branch, and ATM) | Yes | ₹500 if closed between 15 days and 6 months, ₹250 between 6 and 12 months |
| Bank of Baroda (Lite) | None | None | ₹50,000, charged above that | Not confirmed | 5 free cash withdrawals, then ₹150 each; ₹800 if closed within a year |
| Axis (Normal) | ₹15,000 MAB in metro and urban branches; ₹7,500 in semi-urban and rural | ₹700 a month if you keep 75% or more of the MAB, ₹1,000 below that | ₹2 lakh | Yes | ₹150 fixed monthly charge |
| SBI (Regular) | ₹5,000 MAB | ₹500 + GST a month, waived for the first two months after opening | 100x MAB, up to ₹5 lakh | Yes | ₹600 + GST if a business closes the account between 14 days and 1 year (₹500 + GST for individuals, in non-rural branches) |
| HDFC (Biz Lite+) | ₹25,000 AQB in metro and urban branches; ₹10,000 with a linked POS, gateway, or QR, or in semi-urban and rural branches | ₹2,500 a quarter (metro and urban); ₹1,500 (semi-urban and rural) | ₹2 lakh or 6x AMB | Yes | None found |
| Kotak (Pro Business) | ₹50,000 AQB; ₹10,000 in rural and semi-urban branches (Classic Current Account, same charges as Pro) | ₹2,500 a quarter below 50% of the AQB; ₹1,500 between 50% and 100% | 10x the previous month’s average balance, up to ₹2.5 crore, only if you keep at least 75% of the AQB; ₹4 per ₹1,000 beyond | Yes | ₹259 a year debit card fee; no account closure charge |
| Federal (Freedom) | ₹5,000 MAB | ₹300 a month | 10x the previous month’s AMB, up to ₹5 crore; up to ₹2 lakh free for all business accounts; no charges in the first month | Yes | ₹400 if closed within 12 months (free within 14 days); ₹1,500 one-time per user for corporate internet banking |
Figures are for the entry-level account at each bank and exclude GST unless stated. "Not confirmed" means the bank does not state it clearly on its own site. Third-party figures are labelled. Checked September 2026.
How to read this table
- Start with the balance you actually keep. A low minimum balance only saves money if you would otherwise fall below it. If your account rarely drops under ₹25,000, the difference between SBI and HDFC disappears.
- Check the penalty as well as the balance. Axis charges ₹1,000 a month when you keep less than 75% of its minimum, on top of a fixed ₹150 monthly charge. Bank of Baroda charges nothing, because it has no minimum.
- Match free cash limits to your business. A retailer depositing ₹3 lakh a month in cash is covered at SBI and IDFC FIRST, but pays extra at ICICI, Bank of Baroda, HDFC, and Axis.
For a small business, the minimum balance can quietly shape what an account costs over a year. If your balance regularly dips below the required amount, you can pay penalties even when the account has no monthly fee. Check the minimum balance and the penalty together before you open one.

What Missing the Minimum Balance Costs: A Worked Example
A sole proprietor in Mumbai keeps an average of ₹8,000 in their current account and deposits about ₹40,000 in cash a month, which stays inside every bank’s free cash limit. Here is what the minimum-balance rules cost over a year.
| Bank | Minimum balance | ₹8,000 balance vs minimum | Penalty over a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBI | ₹5,000 | Above | ₹0 |
| Federal | ₹5,000 | Above | ₹0 |
| Bank of Baroda | None | Not applicable | ₹0 |
| HDFC (metro, no linked POS or QR) | ₹25,000 | 32% of minimum | ₹10,000 (₹2,500 x 4 quarters) |
| Kotak | ₹50,000 | 16% of minimum | ₹10,000 (₹2,500 x 4 quarters) |
| ICICI | ₹10,000 | 80% of minimum | ₹9,000 (₹750 x 12 months) |
| Axis (metro) | ₹15,000 | 53% of minimum | ₹13,800 (₹1,000 penalty + ₹150 fixed charge, x 12 months) |
| IDFC FIRST | ₹10,000 | 80% of minimum | ₹12,000 (₹1,000 x 12 months) |
Excludes GST. Assumes the balance stays at ₹8,000 all year.
What this tells you
The same ₹8,000 balance costs nothing at SBI, Federal, or Bank of Baroda and ₹13,800 a year at Axis. For a business that keeps a thin balance, the minimum-balance rule matters more than any other charge in the schedule.
How Easy Is It to Receive Money From Abroad at Each Bank?
If clients pay you from abroad, your bank matters in three ways: the exchange rate it converts at, what it charges for the foreign payment and its FIRA, and how much of the process you can finish online without visiting a branch. Axis, ICICI, and IDFC FIRST let you settle foreign payments online. At SBI and Federal, much of the process still runs through the branch, and Bank of Baroda’s online portal needs a branch registration first.
The exchange rate
When a client pays you in dollars, your bank converts the money at its own buying rate, which sits below the market rate. The gap is not listed as a fee, but it comes out of every foreign payment.
What matters for most businesses is whether that published rate applies to a normal invoice. SBI’s published rate only covers transactions between ₹10 lakh and ₹20 lakh, so a smaller payment is priced at the branch. Bank of Baroda, Federal, and IDFC FIRST publish a rate without saying which amounts it covers.
| Bank | Rate sheet date | Gap vs RBI reference rate (USD) | Does the published rate cover a typical invoice? |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICICI | 22 Sep 2026 | 1.82% | Yes, up to USD 25,000 |
| IDFC FIRST | 21 Sep 2026 (evening sheet) | 1.78% | Not stated |
| Bank of Baroda | 22 Sep 2026 | 0.64% | Not stated |
| Axis | 21 Sep 2026 | 1.70% | Yes, up to ₹25 lakh |
| SBI | 22 Sep 2026 | 0.49% | No, only ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh |
| HDFC | 22 Sep 2026 | 2.01% | Yes, up to ₹20 lakh |
| Kotak | 22 Sep 2026 | 1.85% | Yes, up to USD 10,000 |
| Federal | 21 Sep 2026 | 1.43% | Not stated |
Gap = how far the bank’s published telegraphic transfer (TT) buying rate for USD sat below the RBI reference rate on the same day. Each bank name links to its official rate card. RBI reference rates: ₹95.82 (22 Sep 2026) and ₹95.80 (21 Sep 2026).
Charges, FIRA, and how much you can do online
Every foreign payment needs the purpose declared with an RBI purpose code before the bank will credit it, and exporters need a FIRA or e-FIRC as proof of receipt for GST refunds, export incentives, and audits. Here is how each bank handles that.
A FIRA (Foreign Inward Remittance Advice) confirms the money was received. An e-FIRC is the electronic certificate banks report to RBI’s export monitoring system. EEFC is a foreign currency account for exporters. Checked September 2026.
How to read these tables
- A small rate gap only helps if it applies to your invoice. SBI and Bank of Baroda show the tightest rates, but SBI’s rate is for large transfers only, and Bank of Baroda does not say which amounts its rate covers.
- Count the steps, not just the rate. At Axis you choose the purpose code, upload documents, and book the rate online, and the FIRA follows on settlement. At SBI, the FIRA request typically goes through the branch and takes 5 to 7 days.
- Zero markup at a bank comes with conditions. IDFC FIRST offers it only to customers who keep ₹10 lakh in the account and borrow ₹1 crore or more from the bank.
What a $5,000 Invoice Costs: A Worked Example
A design studio in Bengaluru invoices a US client $5,000. At the RBI reference rate of ₹95.82 on 22 September 2026, that is worth ₹4,79,100. Here is how much less each bank’s published rate would pay.
| Bank | Gap vs reference | Rupees lost to the exchange rate |
|---|---|---|
| ICICI | 1.82% | ₹8,720 |
| Axis | 1.70% | ₹8,145 |
| IDFC FIRST | 1.78% | ₹8,528 |
| Kotak | 1.85% | ₹8,863 |
| HDFC | 2.01% | ₹9,630 |
Applies each bank’s published gap to the same ₹4,79,100. Excludes FIRA fees. SBI is excluded because its published rate does not cover this amount.
What this tells you
On a single $5,000 invoice, the exchange rate costs ₹8,100 to ₹9,600 at the private banks, before any FIRA fee. That is close to what a year of minimum-balance penalties costs at HDFC, and it repeats on every invoice. If clients pay you from abroad regularly, the section on Skydo below shows how to receive the same money at the mid-market rate.
How Do the Best Business Bank Accounts Compare on Opening and Business Tools?
Once the account is open, you use it every day to pay vendors, collect from customers, and pay GST, so how well the bank’s business app works matters as much as its charges.
| Bank | Open online? | Business app (Google Play rating) | Tools we verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICICI | Yes | InstaBIZ: 4.7 from 4.24 lakh reviews | GST payments with auto-fetch, maker-checker, accounting auto-reconciliation, overdraft up to ₹50 lakh, inward remittances and EEFC in the app |
| IDFC FIRST | Yes | IDFC FIRST Bank app: 4.9 from 28.8 lakh reviews (one app for personal and business banking) | Every branch counts as your home branch; startup account app with maker-checker, bulk uploads, and virtual accounts |
| Bank of Baroda | Yes, by video KYC, for all entity types | bob World Business: 3.6 from 196 reviews | Maker-checker approvals, bulk payments |
| Axis | Video KYC available | NEO for Business: 4.0 from 969 reviews | Bulk payments, collections through virtual accounts, GST invoices |
| SBI | Yes, video KYC available | YONO Business: 4.5 from 1.18 lakh reviews | Maker, authorizer, and enquirer roles; bulk payments |
| HDFC | Yes | SmartHub Vyapar: 4.3 from 1.41 lakh reviews (a merchant app) | Two-way and three-way payment reconciliation; integration with third-party software |
| Kotak | Apply online; KYC for Pro variants at a branch (third-party source) | Kotak Bank: 4.7Star from 1.18L reviews | Link to ERP and accounting tools; no home branch restriction; bulk payments with maker-checker |
| Federal | Individuals and sole proprietors only | FedMobile: 4.5Star from 2.1L reviews | Bulk fund transfers and LC or guarantee requests on Corporate FedNet |
How to read this table
- Look at the review count, not just the stars. InstaBIZ’s 4.7 comes from more than 4 lakh reviews. Bank of Baroda’s 3.6 comes from fewer than 200, which tells you how few businesses use it.
- Check what you can do without visiting a branch. GST payments, bulk vendor payments, and approvals by a second person are the features small finance teams use most.
- Check whether your entity can open online. Federal only lets individuals and sole proprietors open online, so partnerships and companies need a branch visit.
What users say
- App reliability matters: Recent Google Play reviews mention login issues, transaction errors, and connectivity problems across some business banking apps, even where the overall rating is high.
- Support matters when something goes wrong: Users often mention how quickly the bank resolves payment failures, account-access issues, or transaction problems.
- Business features matter more than the star rating: Reviews are useful, but check whether the app actually supports bulk payments, maker-checker approvals, GST payments, and reconciliation.
- Digital banking matters for day-to-day operations: In a Reddit discussion about current accounts for small businesses, users highlighted app quality, uptime, and the ability to manage routine transactions without depending on a branch. Read the Reddit discussion
- Check the business app separately: A bank's consumer app may have millions of reviews, but that does not necessarily reflect the experience of its business-banking platform.
Which Business Bank Account Is Right for You?
The right business bank account depends on what you need it to do. If you get paid from abroad and want to handle it online, choose Axis or ICICI. If you keep a low balance, choose Bank of Baroda or SBI. If you deposit a lot of cash, choose IDFC FIRST or SBI.
Here is which bank wins on each factor we compared:
| What matters most to you | Best pick | Runner-up | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving money from abroad | Axis | ICICI | Axis lets you settle foreign payments online with no service charge and issues the FIRA on settlement; ICICI’s published rate covers invoices up to USD 25,000 |
| Lowest cost to hold | Bank of Baroda | SBI | No minimum balance at Bank of Baroda; ₹5,000 at SBI with up to ₹5 lakh of free cash deposits |
| Clearest charges | Axis | HDFC | Axis publishes every charge on its Normal Current Account in one schedule |
| Best business app and tools | ICICI | IDFC FIRST | InstaBIZ has the highest rating and most reviews, and covers GST, credit, and foreign payments |
| Benefits and credit | IDFC FIRST | Kotak | IDFC FIRST offers a zero-balance startup account; Kotak includes a credit line up to ₹5 lakh |
| Room to grow | ICICI | HDFC | Both offer a wide ladder of higher-tier accounts and trade services |
| Cash deposits | IDFC FIRST | SBI | Up to ₹10 lakh free a month on a ₹10,000 balance at IDFC FIRST, ₹5 lakh at SBI |
If you are an exporter or a freelancer paid from abroad
Choose Axis if you want to settle every foreign payment yourself online, or ICICI if you also want credit and GST payments in the same app. Both still convert dollars about 1.7% to 1.8% below the RBI reference rate, so if you receive foreign payments regularly, see the Skydo section below.
If you are a new sole proprietor with a small balance
Choose Bank of Baroda Lite if you want no minimum balance at all, or SBI Regular if you can keep ₹5,000 and want branch access. Federal Freedom suits you if you want to open online with a ₹5,000 balance.
If your business handles a lot of cash
Choose IDFC FIRST for up to ₹10 lakh of free cash deposits a month, or SBI for up to ₹5 lakh. If you keep ₹50,000 or more in the account, Kotak Pro Business allows far higher limits.
If you are a registered startup
Choose IDFC FIRST’s Startup Current Account. Private limited companies, LLPs, and one person companies get no minimum balance for three years and unlimited free IMPS, NEFT, and RTGS. After three years the minimum balance rises to ₹2 lakh, so plan to switch variants then.
If you are a merchant taking card or UPI payments
Choose HDFC Biz Lite+ and link your POS, gateway, or QR code to cut the balance to ₹10,000. If ₹3 lakh a quarter flows through those channels, HDFC waives the non-maintenance charge.
If you want predictable charges
Choose Axis. Every charge on the Normal Current Account is in one published schedule.
8 Best Business Bank Accounts in India Reviewed in Detail
Every account on this list solves a slightly different problem. Here’s what each one is like to use, the kind of business it suits best, and where you might run into limits.
1. ICICI Bank
Best for: Growing businesses that run most of their banking, including foreign payments, from a phone or laptop.
Account scored: Roaming Current Account Standard, ₹10,000 MAB
Picture a 10-person agency in Pune that bills clients in India and the US, pays GST every month, and occasionally needs working capital before a client pays. At most banks that means a branch visit, a separate trade desk, and a loan application. ICICI puts all three in one business app.
Pros:
- The strongest business app on this list. InstaBIZ is rated 4.7 from 4.24 lakh reviews on Google Play, and covers GST payments, credit, and foreign payments.
- Foreign payments settled from the app. You can settle inward remittances in InstaBIZ, with funds credited within 1 hour of your instructions, and track outstanding export entries on an online dashboard.
- A published exchange rate for normal invoices. ICICI’s rate sheet applies to transactions up to USD 25,000, and sat 1.82% below the RBI reference rate on 22 September 2026.
Cons:
- The formal e-FIRC goes through the branch trade desk, and ICICI’s trade services schedule charges ₹500 per inward remittance on current accounts opened from 1 August 2025, plus ₹2,500 if you need to change a purpose code.
- Missing the ₹10,000 balance costs ₹750 a month, plus ₹25 for each branch transaction while you are below it, and free cash deposits stop at ₹1 lakh a month.
Choose it if: You want one bank that handles daily payments, GST, credit, and foreign payments from a single app as your business grows.
2. IDFC FIRST Bank
Best for: Registered startups, cash-heavy small businesses, and exporters who want a low-balance account with online foreign payment handling.
Account scored: Silver, ₹10,000 MAB
A Delhi-based distributor collects most payments in cash and deposits several lakh rupees a month, while also receiving the occasional payment from a buyer abroad. IDFC FIRST’s Silver account allows free cash deposits of up to 10 times the balance, capped at ₹10 lakh a month, and lets you settle foreign payments online.
Pros:
- High free cash limits for a ₹10,000 balance. Up to 10 times your balance, capped at ₹10 lakh a month, at home or non-home branches and ATMs, with free NEFT and RTGS.
- Foreign payments handled online. You can submit instructions, book the exchange rate, and download advices online, and its trade and FX schedule makes inward remittances and FIRC issuance free on all current accounts.
- A zero-balance account for startups. Private limited companies, LLPs, and one person companies can open a Startup Current Account with no minimum balance for three years and unlimited free IMPS, NEFT, and RTGS.
Cons:
- The startup account’s minimum balance rises to ₹2 lakh after three years, and its zero forex markup account needs a ₹10 lakh balance and ₹1 crore of loans with the bank.
- Missing the ₹10,000 balance costs ₹1,000, the highest penalty among the ₹10,000 accounts here, and the standard dollar rate sat 1.78% below the RBI reference rate with no stated transaction range.
Choose it if: You are a registered startup, deposit a lot of cash, or want a low-balance account where you can settle foreign payments online.
3. Bank of Baroda
Best for: Micro businesses and new proprietors who keep low balances and handle little cash.
Account scored: Lite, no minimum balance
A consultant who has just registered a proprietorship may only keep a few thousand rupees in the account between client payments. At most banks, that triggers a penalty every month. Bank of Baroda’s Lite account has no minimum balance, so it costs nothing to keep open.
Pros:
- No minimum balance and no penalty. You never pay for keeping the account thin.
- Every fee on one page. The Lite account’s charges are listed on its product page, so you know your costs before you open it.
- Open online, whatever your entity. Video KYC is available for individuals, sole proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, and private and public limited companies.
Cons:
- Its business app, bob World Business, is rated 3.6 from only 196 reviews, and its trade portal, BarodaINSTA SmartTrade, handles inward remittances online only after you register at the branch with an application form and a stamped agreement. Its forex charges are ₹200 per advance remittance against exports and ₹250 to ₹1,200 per export bill you send directly to the buyer, with other inward remittances free.
- Free cash deposits stop at ₹50,000 a month, and cash withdrawals cost ₹150 each after the first five.
Choose it if: You keep a low balance, rarely handle cash, and mostly get paid within India.
4. Axis Bank
Best for: Exporters and freelancers who want to handle foreign payments themselves, and businesses that want every charge spelled out.
Account scored: Normal Current Account, ₹15,000 MAB in metro and urban branches
A software consultant in Hyderabad invoices three overseas clients a month. At many banks each payment means an email to the branch with the purpose code, then a separate FIRA request. With Axis, the consultant logs into internet banking, picks the pending remittance, selects the purpose code, uploads the invoice, books the rate, and submits.
Pros:
- The most complete self-serve setup for foreign payments. Settle inward remittances online: choose the purpose code, upload documents, and book the rate in up to 14 currencies, with no separate onboarding.
- No service charge on online inward remittances, according to Axis’s own page, and funds are credited within 2 hours of submitting complying documents, and third-party sources report that the FIRA is generated automatically on settlement.
- The most complete published fee schedule on this list. Every charge that applies to the account is in one document, and you can credit or split foreign payments into an EEFC account.
Cons:
- In metro branches you need ₹15,000, pay a fixed ₹150 a month, and pay up to ₹1,000 a month if you fall below 75% of the balance.
- Axis’s dollar rate sat 1.70% below the RBI reference rate, so online convenience still comes with a conversion cost.
Choose it if: Clients pay you from abroad and you want to settle each payment online yourself, with fully published charges.
5. SBI
Best for: Businesses that deposit cash and want a large branch network.
Account scored: Regular Current Account, ₹5,000 MAB
A small trading firm in a tier-2 town deals with suppliers and customers who pay in cash and expect a branch nearby. SBI’s Regular Current Account asks for the lowest balance of any full-service bank on this list and allows up to ₹5 lakh of free cash deposits a month.
Pros:
- The lowest balance among full-service banks here. ₹5,000 MAB.
- Generous free cash deposits. Up to 100 times your MAB, capped at ₹5 lakh a month, with free NEFT and RTGS online.
- A well-reviewed business app. YONO Business is rated 4.5 from 1.18 lakh reviews and supports maker, authorizer, and enquirer roles and bulk payments.
Cons:
- Foreign payments are the weak spot: SBI’s published exchange rate only covers transactions between ₹10 lakh and ₹20 lakh, and exporters without an SBI export credit limit pay ₹500 per export remittance, with the FIRA mainly handled at the branch.
- Missing the ₹5,000 balance costs ₹500 plus GST a month, though the charge is waived for the first two months after you open the account.
Choose it if: You handle cash, want a branch close by, keep at least ₹5,000 in the account, and rarely get paid from abroad.
6. HDFC Bank
Best for: Merchants who accept card or UPI payments and can link a POS, gateway, or QR code.
Account scored: Biz Lite+, ₹25,000 AQB in metro and urban branches
A café owner in Chennai takes most payments by card and QR code. If those collections are linked to the account, HDFC cuts the Biz Lite+ balance requirement from ₹25,000 to ₹10,000, and its SmartHub Vyapar app reconciles the payments automatically.
Pros:
- A detailed, published fee schedule. Balance, penalty, and free limits are set out in rupees for each branch type, and if ₹3 lakh a quarter flows through your linked POS, gateway, or QR, HDFC waives the non-maintenance charge.
- Foreign payment instructions online. You can submit disposal instructions through NetBanking and request the FIRC online.
- A clear ladder to grow into. Biz Lite+, Biz Pro+, Biz Ultra+, and Biz Elite+ let you move up without changing banks, and HDFC’s rate sheet covers transactions up to ₹20 lakh.
Cons:
- Without a linked POS, gateway, or QR, the metro balance is ₹25,000, missing it costs ₹2,500 a quarter, and free limits lapse for the quarter if you fall below 75% of it.
- HDFC’s dollar rate sat 2.01% below the RBI reference rate, the widest gap on this list, though inward remittances are free and a FIRC costs ₹200.
Choose it if: You are a merchant who can link your collections to the account, or you keep ₹25,000 or more in it anyway.
7. Kotak Mahindra Bank
Best for: Established businesses that keep ₹50,000 or more in the account and want a credit line.
Account scored: Pro Business, ₹50,000 AQB
Kotak used to be a common choice for small businesses because of its low-balance Neo and 811 current accounts. Neo is now closed to new customers, and Kotak811 current accounts for individuals and sole proprietors stopped taking new customers on 15 August 2026. A new business now starts on Pro Business.
Pros:
- Very high cash deposit limits. Up to 10 times your previous month’s average balance, capped at ₹2.5 crore a month, as long as you keep at least 75% of the required balance.
- A credit line from the start. Pro Business comes with a credit line of up to ₹5 lakh, and links to ERP and accounting tools.
- A clearly published penalty. ₹2,500 a quarter below half the required balance, ₹1,500 between half and the full amount.
Cons:
- The ₹50,000 AQB is the highest entry balance on this list in metro and urban branches. The ₹10,000 Classic Current Account carries the same charges as Pro, but is only offered in rural and semi-urban branches.
- Kotak’s dollar rate, which applies up to USD 10,000, sat 1.85% below the RBI reference rate. Its trade fee schedule makes inward remittances free and charges ₹150 for a FIRA, but SOFTEX handling for software exporters costs 0.075% of the bill, with a ₹1,250 minimum.
Choose it if: You already keep ₹50,000 or more in your account and want credit on tap.
8. Federal Bank
Best for: Individuals and sole proprietors who want a low-balance account they can open online.
Account scored: Freedom, ₹5,000 MAB
A developer registering as a sole proprietor wants a current account without visiting a branch. Federal’s Freedom account asks for ₹5,000 and can be opened online by individuals and sole proprietors.
Pros:
- A low minimum balance with generous cash limits. ₹5,000 MAB, with free cash deposits of up to 10 times the balance and no cash charges in the first month.
- Online opening for individuals and sole proprietors, with a video KYC step.
- A tighter dollar rate than most private banks. Federal’s rate sat 1.43% below the RBI reference rate, though it does not say which amounts the rate covers.
Cons:
- Partnerships, LLPs, and companies cannot open online, and online accounts only become operational after a bank official verifies your business location.
- Missing the balance costs ₹300 a month, and foreign payments use a paper instruction form at the branch, with ₹250 per inward remittance and ₹500 per FIRC. Corporate internet banking handles bulk transfers and LC requests, but lists no online foreign payment settlement.
Choose it if: You are a sole proprietor who wants a low balance and an online signup, and rarely get paid from abroad.
How We Ranked These Business Bank Accounts
We scored each bank’s entry-level current account on six factors and checked every figure against the bank’s own website, using independent sources only where a bank doesn’t publish the information.
How we ranked them
| Factor | Weight | What we measured |
|---|---|---|
| Cost to hold and run | 20% | Minimum balance for a new business in a metro branch, the penalty for missing it, fixed monthly charges, and free cash deposit limits |
| Fee transparency | 20% | Whether the bank publishes one current fee schedule for the account, with the penalty stated in rupees |
| Receiving money from abroad | 20% | The published dollar rate gap, credited only where it covers typical invoice sizes (50%); inward remittance and FIRA charges (20%); and how much you can do online: purpose code and instructions, rate booking, FIRA, EEFC, and export document tools (30%) |
| Ease of operation | 20% | Online opening and which entities can use it (40%), and daily business tools and the business app’s rating (60%) |
| Benefits | 10% | Credit lines, overdrafts, fee-free services, and startup offers |
| Room to grow | 10% | The range of higher-tier accounts and trade services you can move into |
Receiving money from abroad carries the same weight as cost because a growing number of Indian businesses, freelancers, and exporters are paid by clients abroad, and for them the exchange rate and FIRA process cost more than any domestic charge. A lower rank doesn’t make a bank worse for everyone. SBI ranks fourth even though its foreign payment process runs through the branch, because it is one of the cheapest accounts to hold and publishes every charge in one schedule.
Where our information comes from
- Bank websites: every minimum balance, penalty, free limit, account rule, and foreign payment feature was checked against the bank’s own product pages and fee schedules in September 2026. Where a bank does not publish a figure, we used a third-party source and label it.
- Exchange rates: each bank’s published TT buying rate for US dollars, compared with the RBI reference rate for the same day. The tables show the latest sheets (21 and 22 September 2026); the forex score uses the average of the sheets captured between 15 and 22 September, so a single day’s movement does not reshuffle the ranking.
- FIRA charges and timelines: where banks do not publish them, from an August 2026 guide to FIRA downloads covering SBI, HDFC, ICICI, Kotak, and Axis.
- App stores: Google Play ratings and review counts, checked 21 September 2026.
- Regulation: RBI directions on current, cash credit, and overdraft accounts, effective 1 April 2026 (Business Standard report; summary).
- Expert input: Skydo’s cross-border payments and compliance specialists reviewed the analysis and contributed the commentary quoted in this guide.
Disclosure: Skydo is a cross-border payments platform, not a bank, so it is not ranked here.
Bank charges and account terms change often, so check the bank’s own site before you open an account.
How Skydo Helps Receive International Payments
Skydo is a cross-border payments platform for Indian exporters, freelancers, and businesses, with final RBI authorisation as a Payment Aggregator - Cross Border (PA-CB) since January 2026. You get local account details in the US, UK, EU, Canada, and Australia for your clients to pay into, Skydo converts the money at the live mid-market rate with zero FX markup, and the rupees land in your existing Indian current account within 24 hours, with a free FIRA delivered instantly. Setup is a one-time step of about 5 minutes.
| Receiving through a bank | Receiving through Skydo | |
|---|---|---|
| Exchange rate | Bank’s TT buying rate, 1.70% to 2.01% below the RBI reference rate at banks whose published rate covers normal invoices | Live mid-market rate, zero FX markup |
| Fees | Free at Axis for online inward remittances; free or ₹150 to ₹500 per payment or certificate at the other banks | Flat fee: $19 up to $2,000, $29 from $2,001 to $10,000, and 0.3% above $10,000, plus GST; no separate FIRA fee |
| Purpose code and paperwork | You declare the purpose code and submit documents online or at the branch, depending on the bank | Skydo tags the purpose code and generates the FIRA for every payment, and you can create GST-compliant invoices on the platform |
| FIRA | Automatic at Axis; on request at most other banks, taking 2 to 7 days (third-party sources) | Instant FIRA |
| Settlement | 1-5 business days | Less than 24 hours |
| Account setup | Your existing current account | Account details in 5 minutes |
The same $5,000 invoice through Skydo
On the $5,000 invoice from earlier, Skydo converts at the mid-market rate and charges a flat $29 plus GST, about ₹3,300. The same invoice costs ₹8,720 through ICICI’s published rate, ₹8,145 through Axis, and ₹9,630 through HDFC.
Skydo’s flat fee works best from about $1,000 per invoice. On a $500 invoice, the $19 fee works out to about 3.8%, so a bank may cost less for very small payments.
Choose Skydo if clients pay you from abroad regularly and you want to see exactly what you will receive, with the FIRA ready, before the money lands.
Which bank is best for a current account in India?
ICICI Bank ranks first in our 2026 comparison for its business app, its published exchange rate for invoices up to USD 25,000, and a ₹10,000 minimum balance. IDFC FIRST ranks second for its free cash limits and online foreign payment handling, and Axis third for the most complete self-serve setup for payments from abroad. The best choice depends on your entity, your cash volume, the balance you keep, and whether clients pay you from abroad.
Which bank is best for exporters and freelancers receiving foreign payments?
Is there a zero-balance current account in India?
What is the minimum balance for a current account?
What charges apply to a current account?
What is the difference between a current account and a savings account?
Can a freelancer or sole proprietor open a current account?
Do I need GST registration to open a current account?
Can I receive international payments in my current account?
How much of my deposit is insured?
Can I open a current account at any bank if I have a business loan?






