logo

Cashfree vs Winvesta: which is better for international payments in 2026?

  • Cashfree holds the RBI PA-CB licence and settles within days, but its fee is a third-party estimate of 1 to 1.5% rather than a published price, and invoices above $10,000 fall outside the product
  • Winvesta charges $3 plus 0.99% per withdrawal with 0% USD markup, with currency holding built in, but runs on a partner-bank model rather than a PA-CB licence
  • Which one is better comes down to your priorities - fees, FIRA handling, and how your clients prefer to pay
Accept payment from 150+ countries
USD
Client pays
USD 100USD 100,000
1 USD = 85.00 INR
Live fx rate
You'll receiveINR
₹4,22,091
Cashfree
₹4,18,731
You lose:1.5%
Winvesta
₹4,19,734
You lose:1.2%
100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Over $1B processed • Licensed by RBI
RBI PA-CB authorizedHDFC BankISO 27001 certifiedVisa

Cashfree vs Winvesta: understanding the key differences

Both Cashfree and Winvesta are well-known names for international payments, but they differ in who can use them from India, fees, export documentation like FIRA, GST compliance, settlement timelines, and support. Here is how they compare side by side.
FeaturesCashfreeWinvesta
Transfer feesEst. 1-1.5%, quote-only$3 + 0.99% on USD
Forex markup0% claimed, unverifiedZero on USD
FIRAFree e-FIRA within 24 hoursFree, automatic, per transaction
eBRCNot supported, closed on DGFT after your bank issues the IRMNot reported
GST-compliant invoiceNot availableInvoice generator, GST format not confirmed
Settlement timeWithin 7 days of NOSTRO credit~1 business day after conversion
Customer supportIndia-based; email, tickets, WhatsApp for enterpriseMumbai office; email and phone
Best suited forDomestic-plus-exporter businesses under the $10K capSmall USD invoices, currency holding

Cashfree vs Winvesta: pricing and forex breakdown

Beyond the published fees, the real cost is what lands in your bank after fees, forex and GST. Move the slider to see what each one works out to, and how Skydo compares.
With Skydo, you receive₹8,47,091
Money transferUSD 10,000
$500$10K$100K$1M
Cashfree0% markup (claimed)
₹8,37,463
Exchange rate85.00
Forex markup₹0
Transfer fee₹10,625
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹1,913
Total fees₹12,538
You receive₹8,37,463
Winvesta0% markup on USD
₹8,39,769
Exchange rate85.00
Forex markup₹0
Transfer fee₹8,415
Fixed fee₹255
GST (18%)₹1,561
Total fees₹10,231
You receive₹8,39,769

Cashfree vs Winvesta: compliance, payment rails, and platform comparison

Cashfree
  • Issues free e-FIRA within 24 hours, per transaction
  • No automated eBRC, generate manually through DGFT
  • Invoicing tool does not produce GST-compliant invoices for India
  • Purpose code assignment method not publicly documented
  • SOFTEX and EDPMS handled separately via your bank
Winvesta
  • Free automatic FIRA per transaction, no request needed
  • eBRC automation not confirmed on Winvesta's own site
  • Invoice generator available, GST-specific format not confirmed
  • Purpose code handling not automated, routed via partner bank
  • Not RBI PA-CB licensed, operates via partner Indian banks

Cashfree vs Winvesta: which one is right for you

There is no single winner. The right pick depends on who pays you, how large your invoices are, and how much paperwork you can handle.
01Cashfree

Choose Cashfree if:

You want RBI PA-CB licensing from an established Bengaluru fintech and can work within the product's limits.
  • You're comfortable requesting a quote instead of seeing a published fee
  • Your invoices stay reliably under the $10,000 cap
  • You already run domestic payments through Cashfree and want one dashboard
  • You value a full PA-CB licence over published pricing
02Winvesta

Choose Winvesta if:

You want to hold foreign currency and time your INR conversion, and mostly bill in USD.
  • Freelancer collecting under $2,000/month per currency, within Winvesta's published tier
  • Exporter wanting FCA-regulated custody of balances
  • You're comfortable with a partner-bank compliance model
  • You bill mostly in USD where the 0% markup applies

Skydo: a better alternative to Cashfree and Winvesta

FeaturesCashfreeWinvesta
Settlement timeWithin 7 days of NOSTRO credit~1 business day24 hours
Forex markup0% claimedZero on USDZero, live rate
Transaction feeEst. 1-1.5%, quote-only$3 + 0.99%$19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% aboveBest
FIRAFree e-FIRA, 24 hrsFree, automaticFree, instant, per payment
eBRC and EDPMSNot supported, handled with your AD bankNot reportedOne-click eBRC, EDPMS closure assistance
GST invoicingNot availableGenerator, not GST-confirmedBuilt in, GST compliant
Customer supportIndia-based, ticketsEmail and phone (Mumbai)India-based, on WhatsApp, call and email
Payment trackingReal-time dashboardBasic dashboardAuto tracked, remittance to bank deposit
RBI authorisationFull PA-CB (2025)Partner-bank, not PA-CBFull PA-CB authorized
Losing money on each transfer but not sure how much?

See what our clients say about us

100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Shashank
“I'm looking for straightforward, transparent pricing. With most payment providers, it's hard to understand the actual fees and exchange rates, making it difficult to know what I'm really paying.”ShashankCEO, HCODE

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, Cashfree or Winvesta, for international payments in 2026?+
It comes down to how your clients pay you and how much compliance you want handled. Cashfree holds the RBI PA-CB licence and settles within days, but its fee is quote-only and every invoice above $10,000 falls outside the product. Winvesta offers $3 + 0.99% USD pricing with zero markup and currency holding, but runs on a partner-bank model and moves to custom pricing above $2,000/month. Cashfree suits domestic-plus-exporter businesses under the $10K cap, while Winvesta suits small USD invoices with currency holding.
Is Cashfree cheaper than Winvesta?+
Usually not. Cashfree's Global Collections fee is not published — third-party estimates put it at 1 to 1.5% with 0% claimed FX markup, roughly 1.2 to 1.8% all in. Winvesta charges $3 plus 0.99% per USD withdrawal with 0% markup, roughly 1 to 1.3% all in, moving to custom pricing above $2,000/month. Winvesta is generally cheaper, though what actually lands in your bank depends on invoice size.
Which provides better exchange rates, Cashfree or Winvesta?+
Neither builds a meaningful markup into the rate. Cashfree claims 0% forex markup, though the rate is unverified, and Winvesta applies zero forex markup on USD. The cost difference between them comes from fees rather than the exchange rate.
Do Cashfree and Winvesta provide FIRA for Indian exporters?+
Cashfree auto-generates a free e-FIRA within 24 hours, per transaction. Winvesta issues a free automatic FIRA on every transaction. For GST refunds and export compliance an instant per-payment FIRA matters — Skydo issues one free with every payment.
Are Cashfree and Winvesta RBI-approved for receiving payments in India?+
Cashfree holds a full PA-CB licence (Certificate 266/2025). Winvesta is not RBI PA-CB licensed — it operates through partner Indian banks with UK FCA-regulated custody.
Is Cashfree or Winvesta better for freelancers or businesses?+
Businesses already running domestic payments on Cashfree, with invoices under the $10,000 cap, lean towards Cashfree. Freelancers with small USD invoices who want to hold currency before converting lean towards Winvesta.
Is there a better alternative to Cashfree and Winvesta for receiving money in India?+
Skydo is built for Indian exporters and freelancers. It charges a flat fee ($19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% above) that works out cheaper than a percentage fee as invoices grow, with zero forex markup, instant FIRA on every payment, one-click eBRC and EDPMS closure assistance, built-in GST-compliant invoicing, full RBI PA-CB authorisation, and India-based support.

Ready to save more on international payments?

Start receiving global payments with Skydo and keep more of what you earn.