logo

PayGlocal vs Remitly: which is better for international payments in 2026?

  • PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account fee with no FX markup — flat $10-$18, then 0.25% above $7,500 — but onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant self-serve
  • Remitly is a top-rated consumer remittance app — transfers land in minutes and pricing beats the banks, but it is built for personal payments, not invoices
  • Which one is better comes down to your priorities - fees, FIRA handling, and how your clients prefer to pay
Accept payment from 150+ countries
USD
Client pays
USD 100USD 100,000
1 USD = 85.00 INR
Live fx rate
You'll receiveINR
₹4,22,091
PayGlocal
₹4,23,195
You lose:0.4%
Remitly
₹4,21,175
You lose:0.9%
100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Over $1B processed • Licensed by RBI
RBI PA-CB authorizedHDFC BankISO 27001 certifiedVisa

PayGlocal vs Remitly: understanding the key differences

Both PayGlocal and Remitly are well-known names for international payments, but they differ in who can use them from India, fees, export documentation like FIRA, GST compliance, settlement timelines, and support. Here is how they compare side by side.
FeaturesPayGlocalRemitly
Transfer fees$10/$18 flat, then 0.25% by tier$3.99 under $1,000, free above (paid by the sender)
Forex markupZero, live interbank rate~0.3-1.5% inside the exchange rate
FIRAAutomated, free, instantNot issued at any price
eBRCNot stated as automatedNot supported, payments never enter the export system
GST-compliant invoiceInvoicing tool, GST format not statedNot available
Settlement timeWithin 24 hours of conversionMinutes (Express) to 3-5 days (Economy)
Customer supportPhone, email, tickets, account manager24/7 chat and phone, for the sender
Best suited forCards plus multi-currency collections on one stackPersonal remittances from family abroad

PayGlocal vs Remitly: pricing and forex breakdown

Beyond the published fees, the real cost is what lands in your bank after fees, forex and GST. Move the slider to see what each one works out to, and how Skydo compares.
With Skydo, you receive₹8,47,091
Money transferUSD 10,000
$500$10K$100K$1M
PayGlocal0% markup
₹8,48,195
Exchange rate85.00
Forex markup₹0
Transfer fee₹1,530
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹275
Total fees₹1,805
You receive₹8,48,195
Remitly~0.3-1.5% markup
₹8,42,350
Exchange rate84.23
Forex markup₹7,650
Transfer fee₹0
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹0
Total fees₹7,650
You receive₹8,42,350

PayGlocal vs Remitly: compliance, payment rails, and platform comparison

PayGlocal
  • FIRA generated automatically on every settlement, not weekly or consolidated
  • No published claim of automated eBRC for DGFT filing
  • GST-compliant invoicing not specifically stated
  • Purpose code assignment not publicly disclosed
  • SOFTEX and EDPMS not stated as platform-automated
Remitly
  • No FIRA or FIRC issued, at any price
  • Payments arrive under personal purpose codes (P1301/P1302), not export codes
  • No GST-compliant invoicing — no invoicing at all
  • No eBRC support; EDPMS entries are never created
  • Consumer terms prohibit business use outright — it's a breach of the user agreement

PayGlocal vs Remitly: which one is right for you

There is no single winner. The right pick depends on who pays you, how large your invoices are, and how much paperwork you can handle.
01PayGlocal

Choose PayGlocal if:

You want a single RBI-authorised stack covering cards, multi-currency accounts and domestic UPI.
  • Business also processing significant card-payment volume
  • Exporter wanting a dedicated account manager over self-serve
  • Enterprise needing custom volume-based pricing
  • Business that can live without a published eBRC or purpose-code claim
02Remitly

Choose Remitly if:

You want Remitly's consumer speed and polish, and the payment is genuinely personal.
  • Client is an individual who already uses the app
  • Small, occasional transfers with no paperwork needs
  • Speed to UPI or a bank account is the top priority
  • You accept personal-remittance classification and no FIRA

Skydo: a better alternative to PayGlocal and Remitly

FeaturesPayGlocalRemitly
Settlement timeWithin 24 hoursMinutes to 3-5 days24 hours
Forex markupZero, interbank~0.3-1.5% in the rateZero, live rate
Transaction fee$10/$18 flat, 0.25% above$3.99 under $1K, else free (sender pays)$19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% aboveBest
FIRAAutomated, free, instantNot issuedFree, instant, per payment
eBRC and EDPMSNot statedNot supportedOne-click eBRC, EDPMS closure assistance
GST invoicingTool, GST not statedNot availableBuilt in, GST compliant
Customer supportPhone, email, account managerSender-side onlyIndia-based, on WhatsApp, call and email
Payment trackingReal-time notificationsSender app trackingAuto tracked, remittance to bank deposit
RBI authorisationFull PA-CB-I&O (Nov 2025)Not on PA-CB register (RDA rail)Full PA-CB authorized
Losing money on each transfer but not sure how much?

See what our clients say about us

100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Shashank
“I'm looking for straightforward, transparent pricing. With most payment providers, it's hard to understand the actual fees and exchange rates, making it difficult to know what I'm really paying.”ShashankCEO, HCODE

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, PayGlocal or Remitly, for international payments in 2026?+
It comes down to how your clients pay you and how much compliance you want handled. PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account with no FX markup and full RBI authorisation, though onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant. Remitly is a top-rated consumer remittance app whose transfers land in minutes, but it moves personal remittances — business income arrives misclassified with no FIRA. PayGlocal suits card payments plus collections on one stack, while Remitly suits genuinely personal transfers, not invoices.
Is PayGlocal cheaper than Remitly?+
Usually yes. PayGlocal runs tiered pricing — flat $10 to $2,000, $18 to $7,500, then 0.25% — with zero FX markup, roughly 0.25 to 1% all in. Remitly's cost sits almost entirely inside the exchange rate at roughly 0.3 to 1.5%, and the overseas sender pays it — but no FIRA is ever issued and transfers arrive under personal purpose codes. PayGlocal is generally cheaper, though what actually lands in your bank depends on invoice size.
Which provides better exchange rates, PayGlocal or Remitly?+
PayGlocal. PayGlocal converts at the live interbank rate with zero markup, while Remitly builds roughly 0.3 to 1.5% into the exchange rate, varying by corridor and tier.
Do PayGlocal and Remitly provide FIRA for Indian exporters?+
PayGlocal generates FIRA automatically and free on every settlement. Remitly issues no FIRA or FIRC at any price — a personal-remittance credit is not export-classified. For GST refunds and export compliance an instant per-payment FIRA matters — Skydo issues one free with every payment.
Are PayGlocal and Remitly RBI-approved for receiving payments in India?+
PayGlocal holds full PA-CB-I&O and PA-O authorisation (Nov 2025). Remitly has no RBI authorisation of its own — it delivers via partner banks under the Rupee Drawing Arrangement, a personal-remittance rail.
Is PayGlocal or Remitly better for freelancers or businesses?+
Businesses that also process card payments and want one RBI-authorised stack lean towards PayGlocal. Remitly only fits genuinely personal transfers — its consumer terms prohibit business use outright.
Is there a better alternative to PayGlocal and Remitly for receiving money in India?+
Skydo is built for Indian exporters and freelancers. It charges a flat fee ($19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% above) that works out cheaper than a percentage fee as invoices grow, with zero forex markup, instant FIRA on every payment, one-click eBRC and EDPMS closure assistance, built-in GST-compliant invoicing, full RBI PA-CB authorisation, and India-based support.

Ready to save more on international payments?

Start receiving global payments with Skydo and keep more of what you earn.