logo

PayU vs PayGlocal: which is better for international payments in 2026?

  • PayU is a domestic-first gateway with full RBI authorisation, but its international product is a card checkout, not a collections account — so B2B invoicing doesn't fit
  • PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account fee with no FX markup — flat $10-$18, then 0.25% above $7,500 — but onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant self-serve
  • Which one is better comes down to your priorities - fees, FIRA handling, and how your clients prefer to pay
Accept payment from 150+ countries
USD
Client pays
USD 100USD 100,000
1 USD = 85.00 INR
Live fx rate
You'll receiveINR
₹4,22,091
PayU
₹4,01,455
You lose:5.5%
PayGlocal
₹4,23,195
You lose:0.4%
100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Over $1B processed • Licensed by RBI
RBI PA-CB authorizedHDFC BankISO 27001 certifiedVisa

PayU vs PayGlocal: understanding the key differences

Both PayU and PayGlocal are well-known names for international payments, but they differ in who can use them from India, fees, export documentation like FIRA, GST compliance, settlement timelines, and support. Here is how they compare side by side.
FeaturesPayUPayGlocal
Transfer fees3% on international cards (2% domestic)$10/$18 flat, then 0.25% by tier
Forex markup1.5-2.5% (anecdotal)Zero, live interbank rate
FIRANot documented publiclyAutomated, free, instant
eBRCNot documentedNot stated as automated
GST-compliant invoiceNot publishedInvoicing tool, GST format not stated
Settlement timeT+2 standard (domestic)Within 24 hours of conversion
Customer supportIndia-based, ticket and emailPhone, email, tickets, account manager
Best suited forConsumer checkout, recurring card billingCards plus multi-currency collections on one stack

PayU vs PayGlocal: pricing and forex breakdown

Beyond the published fees, the real cost is what lands in your bank after fees, forex and GST. Move the slider to see what each one works out to, and how Skydo compares.
With Skydo, you receive₹8,47,091
Money transferUSD 10,000
$500$10K$100K$1M
PayU1.5-2.5% markup
₹8,02,910
Exchange rate83.30
Forex markup₹17,000
Card fee₹25,500
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹4,590
Total fees₹47,090
You receive₹8,02,910
PayGlocal0% markup
₹8,48,195
Exchange rate85.00
Forex markup₹0
Transfer fee₹1,530
Fixed fee₹0
GST (18%)₹275
Total fees₹1,805
You receive₹8,48,195

PayU vs PayGlocal: compliance, payment rails, and platform comparison

PayU
  • FIRA handling is not documented publicly at all
  • No eBRC generation documented for exporters
  • No documented GST-compliant sales invoicing
  • Purpose code handling is not documented publicly
  • Card checkout only, and no bank transfer collections
PayGlocal
  • FIRA generated automatically on every settlement, not weekly or consolidated
  • No published claim of automated eBRC for DGFT filing
  • GST-compliant invoicing not specifically stated
  • Purpose code assignment not publicly disclosed
  • SOFTEX and EDPMS not stated as platform-automated

PayU vs PayGlocal: which one is right for you

There is no single winner. The right pick depends on who pays you, how large your invoices are, and how much paperwork you can handle.
01PayU

Choose PayU if:

You want PayU's domestic reach and can absorb 3% plus a 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top.
  • Consumer e-commerce brand selling to buyers overseas
  • Ed-tech or SaaS business billing global customers by card
  • Business already running PayU for domestic payments
  • Seller who needs recurring card billing
02PayGlocal

Choose PayGlocal if:

You want a single RBI-authorised stack covering cards, multi-currency accounts and domestic UPI.
  • Business also processing significant card-payment volume
  • Exporter wanting a dedicated account manager over self-serve
  • Enterprise needing custom volume-based pricing
  • Business that can live without a published eBRC or purpose-code claim

Skydo: a better alternative to PayU and PayGlocal

FeaturesPayUPayGlocal
Settlement timeT+2 (domestic)Within 24 hours24 hours
Forex markup1.5-2.5% (anecdotal)Zero, interbankZero, live rate
Transaction fee3% intl cards$10/$18 flat, 0.25% above$19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% aboveBest
FIRANot documentedAutomated, free, instantFree, instant, per payment
eBRC and EDPMSNot documentedNot statedOne-click eBRC, EDPMS closure assistance
GST invoicingNot publishedTool, GST not statedBuilt in, GST compliant
Customer supportIndia-based ticketsPhone, email, account managerIndia-based, on WhatsApp, call and email
Payment trackingDashboard reportsReal-time notificationsAuto tracked, remittance to bank deposit
RBI authorisationFull PA aggregation (2025)Full PA-CB-I&O (Nov 2025)Full PA-CB authorized
Losing money on each transfer but not sure how much?

See what our clients say about us

100+ reviews
Trusted by 40,000+ businesses
Shashank
“I'm looking for straightforward, transparent pricing. With most payment providers, it's hard to understand the actual fees and exchange rates, making it difficult to know what I'm really paying.”ShashankCEO, HCODE

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, PayU or PayGlocal, for international payments in 2026?+
It comes down to how your clients pay you and how much compliance you want handled. PayU is a domestic-first gateway with full RBI authorisation, but its international product is a card checkout, not a collections account — B2B invoicing does not fit. PayGlocal runs a tiered multi-currency account with no FX markup and full RBI authorisation, though onboarding is sales-assisted rather than instant. PayU suits consumer checkout and recurring card billing, while PayGlocal suits card payments plus collections on one stack.
Is PayU cheaper than PayGlocal?+
Usually not. PayU lists 3% for international cards, with an anecdotal 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top, landing near 5% all in. PayGlocal runs tiered pricing — flat $10 to $2,000, $18 to $7,500, then 0.25% — with zero FX markup, roughly 0.25 to 1% all in. PayGlocal is generally cheaper, though what actually lands in your bank depends on invoice size.
Which provides better exchange rates, PayU or PayGlocal?+
PayGlocal. PayU carries an anecdotal 1.5 to 2.5% forex markup on top of the card MDR, while PayGlocal converts at the live interbank rate with zero markup.
Do PayU and PayGlocal provide FIRA for Indian exporters?+
PayU does not document FIRA provision publicly for exporters. PayGlocal generates FIRA automatically and free on every settlement. For GST refunds and export compliance an instant per-payment FIRA matters — Skydo issues one free with every payment.
Are PayU and PayGlocal RBI-approved for receiving payments in India?+
PayU holds full RBI authorisation across online, offline and cross-border payment aggregation (2025). PayGlocal holds full PA-CB-I&O and PA-O authorisation (Nov 2025).
Is PayU or PayGlocal better for freelancers or businesses?+
Consumer e-commerce brands selling to overseas buyers at checkout lean towards PayU. Businesses that also process card payments and want one RBI-authorised stack lean towards PayGlocal.
Is there a better alternative to PayU and PayGlocal for receiving money in India?+
Skydo is built for Indian exporters and freelancers. It charges a flat fee ($19 up to $2k, $29 up to $10k, 0.3% above) that works out cheaper than a percentage fee as invoices grow, with zero forex markup, instant FIRA on every payment, one-click eBRC and EDPMS closure assistance, built-in GST-compliant invoicing, full RBI PA-CB authorisation, and India-based support.

Ready to save more on international payments?

Start receiving global payments with Skydo and keep more of what you earn.